The Best Man on his best behaviour? That would be best


How was it that Prince Harry being named The Best Man was considered news today?! The ‘news’ ‘broke’ and was played every hour on Sky News and in some of the UK’s finest newspapers like The Guardian… however, surely the news regarding such an announcement would have been if he wasn’t chosen!

Wills is lucky. I can only imagine how hard it must be for some grooms to choose a best man – but I don’t imagine it was ever a debate for him. For Rahim (my wonderful other half) however, it hasn’t been that cut and dry. He too is lucky. Like me, he is blessed with some fantastic friends and the choice of his best man is of course his and his only… however, I would be lying if I didn’t admit that I’ve found it difficult to truly hold my tongue and avoid pointing him towards my preference of friend to be bestowed with this honour.

You can’t blame me though can you? What if his choice shares the same sense of humour as a young Prince Harry in 2005, and makes a speech clanger as shocking, inappropriate and unforgetable as Harry’s fancy dress costume decision some years ago. That… just won’t do!

While I am confident neither of us have any skeletons in the closet that will be unveiled on our [hopefully sunny] big day in Windsor – I can’t shake the feeling that someone elses more laissez-faire sense of humour could throw a spanner in the works.

This is not a ‘phone a friend’ / ‘ask the audience’ scenario where there is any kind of extra chance. No no no… the immortal words of a wedding speech remain forever – and that makes me very much a fan of the ‘safe’ option when it comes to who is given that honour.

I won’t let myself be pushy about this… I may be his future wife but his boys have been there way before I was in the picture and of all the many things involved in wedding planning – this really does have to be his decision. I’ll respect it. Of course I will… I undoubtedly respect him.

So that’s that. All will be fine and work out beatifully I am sure. The only thing to remember however is not to let the gorgeous dress, coiffed hair and classy heels fool you. I will take a flying leap across the head table if needed to stop an inappropriate speech in its tracks. Luckily… it won’t come to that!

Potential wedding speech saviour?!

One thought on “The Best Man on his best behaviour? That would be best

  1. Gi-Gi,
    I laughed out loud at the mental image of you flying across the table in your wedding gown and choking the man foolish enough to say anything untasteful (homer/bart simpson style)!
    I know you would pull it off with panache, though.
    Keep regaling us with the countdown, please. I’m loving this!

Share your thoughts! Leave a Reply

